Fastpageturner’s Top Twelve Books Of 2012!


Fastpageturner had a great year, as evidenced by the more than 150 blogs posted in 2012!  As my followers know, I generally read 2-3 books a week.  During my vacation, I managed to read 6 books in one week, an all time high even for me!  This year, I put together a list of the best twelve books I read.  For those of you who don’t read as quickly as this fastpageturner (I recently read 2 books in 1 day), consider reading just one of these books each month in 2013.

1. The Zombie Survival Guide: I am now completely prepared for when Zombies invade my city!  Max Brooks’ “The Zombie Survival Guide” was highly creative as it described absolutely everything someone would need to know about how to stay alive with Zombies are chasing you.  I laughed out loud while reading this and highly recommend the book to everyone, because you wouldn’t want to be caught unprepared when Zombies attack, would you?  Read the full blog here.

2. World War Z: Brooks’ ability to create an entire world overrun with Zombies, and tell these tales through so many different voices should have received much more praise.  Anyone interested in the zombie genre should make this the second book you read, right after, “The Zombie Survival Guide.”  Read the full blog here.

3. Gone Girl: When I reached the end, I felt I needed to read it again now that I fully understood the meaning of everything the narrators had been saying.  Like “The Usual Suspects,” a reader finds they have been somewhat tricked into believing everything they’ve just read.  I can’t say too much about the plot, but this highly original and creative book was fantastic!  Read the full blog here.

4. Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter: This was so well written and packed with action that it was inevitable the book would become a movie.  It read like a true autobiography of Lincoln but was still packed with plenty of vampire interactions.  If you liked the movie, you will love the book.  Read the full blog here.

5. The Last Letter From Your Lover: For me, this was a true page turner.  The story of Jennifer grappling with the double life she lead before waking up in the hospital with no memory was intense and catapulted me from one page to the next.  The solid love story and believable characters made this an excellent book.  Read the full blog here.

6. Not Without My Daughter: The true story of Betty and her daughter held against their will in Iran was more interesting than I ever imagined.  I’m still stunned at Betty’s courage and perseverance to save her daughter despite the rigorous international laws which did little to aid her.  This was by far the best autobiography I read this year.  Read the full blog here.

7. Where’d You Go Bernadette?: I loved the zany character of Bernadette and identified with her immediately!  This book is written for those of us who can’t imagine themselves as a PTA president or soccer mom.  Everything in the book was there for a purpose and the ending tied it all up magnificently.Read the full blog here.

8. Snow Flower and the Secret Fan: The poignancy of the friendship of Snow Flower and Lily has stayed with me for months.  The author captured the Asian culture in such a realistic way that I felt these women actually existed.  Travel back in time with these girls; you won’t be disappointed.  Read the full blog here.

9. A Thousand Splendid Suns: A provocative novel that intertwined the lives of Mariam and Laila set against a warring Afghanistan.  Watching the women work together through impossible circumstances to create a meaningful life and unbreakable friendship was an incredible journey.  This book falls squarely into the category of books I wish I read sooner.  Read the full blog here.

10. The Last Child: Strong writing and a plot that continued to twist, had me glued to my seat as I read the heart wrenching quest of a young boy determined to find his missing twin sister.  The youthful protagonist gave the story a unique spirit that was engaging and thoughtful. Read the full blog here.

11. 11/22/63: After reading this, I feel I lived through the Kennedy assassination.  King used his remarkable storytelling abilities to transport me back to 1963 in an attempt to save Kennedy on that fateful day in Dallas.  Impeccable writing and likable characters enhanced the plot, allowing anyone to enjoy this novel. Read the full blog here.

12. Killing Lincoln: A compelling and manageable biography, this book presented an immense amount of information in an interesting way.  I was stunned to learn of the multiple connections between the families of Lincoln and Booth.  After reading this, I will never think of Lincoln’s assassination quite the same way.  Read the full blog here.

Books that barely missed the list:

Defending Jacob: This was an intense legal thriller that made me question whether we really know the people we live with.  The accurate legal procedure unraveled in a way that kept me guessing at how the story would conclude until the last page.  Read the full blog here.

Flight of Gemma Hardy: A manageable and modern version of “Jane Eyre,” the strong writing and likable protagonist made this an enjoyable journey.  Read the full blog here.

Little Bee: Calling into question what you would do to save the life of a stranger, the novel examines the ramifications of the choices we make.  The characters were believable and the story was startling original.  Read the full blog here.

The Lock Artist: Oddly creative and original, the lock artist was a sympathetic character with an amazing life that could be enjoyed by anyone looking for something different.  Read the full blog here.

What were some of the best books you read this year?  I look forward to receiving some suggestions!

Leave a Reply

