You Are Getting Sleepy….”The Hypnotist’s Love Story”


th“The Hypnotist’s Love Story” was spectacular!  The plot was simple: Ellen and Patrick are Dating-Patrick is being stalked-Ellen wants to meet the stalker- Ellen doesn’t know she already has.  The fact that the stalker has infiltrated Ellen’s life without her knowing who she really is was fantastic!  The whole time I was reading this, I was on the edge of my seat wondering which character was the stalker.  The writing and characters were great because they were believable and had realistic conversations.  Ellen and the stalker are both in their late thirties so younger readers might not identify with their musings, but I thought these were really funny.  Even the stalker was likable!

I would characterize this book as a romantic thriller.  I mean it wasn’t a “romance” novel exactly, but there was a romantic aspect to this story.  The whole subplot of Ellen’s mom and her romantic interest could easily be deleted from the book and the story wouldn’t suffer at all.  The novelist is Australian, and the novel is set in Australia, so there were a few phrases and references I didn’t understand, but this didn’t detract from the story at all.  About halfway through the novel, there was a glimmer of what might happen but it was so subtle that I was desperate to find out if I was right.  I have to say the ending I anticipated, where Patrick drove Saskia crazy and then drives Ellen crazy was far more interesting than the actual ending.  But, I suppose it was an “alls well that ends well” ending that had its own twist and was still satisfying.  I would give too much away to discuss the plot in depth, but I could not put this book down.

It was definitely one of the best books I read this year and I can’t wait to read more by this author.

2 thoughts on “You Are Getting Sleepy….”The Hypnotist’s Love Story”

Leave a Reply

