Harnessing The Courage To “Lean In”


thI finally caved and read “Lean In.”  I resisted reading the book because I expected Sandberg’s narration to be preachy, and was surprised when it wasn’t.  I  connected with Sandberg’s honest account of her own career and her descriptions of how she failed to “Lean In.”  I found the content more helpful and on point than other books filled with career advice such as “How To Win Friends and Influence People”.  While I would not characterize this as a self-book, I tried to be introspective while reading and actually took notes – something I’ve never done before!

The clear writing made the dense content manageable.  I was angered not only by the way women are still treated, but by how women act themselves!  I knew the factual background of the book would anger me, I just didn’t expect it to happen on the third page.  I could only read a few chapters at a time because I wanted to digest everything discussed, and because the truth was upsetting.  While I liked most of the propositions advanced, some of Sandberg’s stories about her ability to manager her career were only possible because of her unique situation.  For example, when her kids had lice on a business trip, I felt that the only reason she could shampoo their heads instead of attending a meeting was due to her position of power.  As a lower level employee, I doubt it would have been acceptable for most women to decline attending a company event.

I highly recommend this book to every woman I know.  If you only read one book regarding your career, it should be this one.

Leave a Reply

