Today Is “A Cold Day In Paradise”


th-2I’m not usually one for detective stories, but when I went in search of another Steve Hamilton book I stumbled upon “A Cold Day In Paradise”, and decided to give a try.  I was pleasantly surprised with this book.  After a slow start in the first 40 pages, this became an intriguing mystery I could not put down.   This wasn’t a classic detective mystery where the story revolved around mundane interviews, which I don’t prefer.  Instead, this was a mystery where the main character happened to be a detective, one who a crazed murderer was determined to kill.

When Alex received a call from a friend that he stumbled upon a murder, Alex was suddenly drawn into an intricate web of death and deceit.  I liked that Alex struggled to resolve the bizarre events that took place.  Hamilton’s main characters always seem to have a hint of arrogance and a healthy sense of humor, which make them enjoyable and believable!  Those traits were present in this book, and I liked Alex from the beginning.  The writing was excellent because it was straightforward and descriptive.  In the end, the mysteries were all resolved, well mostly.  The identity of the true villain was twisted, just what I’ve come to expect from this author.

I loved this one!  I’ve already put the rest of the series on my list of books to read.

Leave a Reply

