Do You See “The Invisible Bridge”?


thAt 758 pages I surprised myself when I picked up “The Invisible Bridge”.  I was impressed with the lyrical writing that allowed me to follow Andras as he fell in love with an older woman in France, Klara.  Orringer focused on the progression of attacks on Jews in Paris prior to the official start of WWI, which provided a view on the war I hadn’t read about.  Andras was a likable character because he was compassionate and spunky.  His small revolutionary actions like attending anti-Jewish organizations and writing articles that criticized Hitler were brave, but had devastating impacts.  Much of the story was devoted to the character’s lives rather than the war, and Andras’ devotion to Klara, his friends and family enhanced the cruelty of war by showing its impact on the characters.

I both loved and hated the book.  The book’s length was due to the immense details provided about their lives, and at times it was far too much information.  But when the intricate details gave way to a beautiful scene filled with emotion, I cared deeply for all of the characters and had to read more.  I’d be lying if I didn’t admit to skipping a few paragraphs.  I don’t know how a reader could not.  The story would still have been enjoyable if it was shorter.  My biggest issue with the book was that the author devoted too much time to boring and trivial events (walking down the street, and turning a corner) and then skimmed over how Andras and Klara endured the war.

This wasn’t what I expected, and left me feeling frustrated.

 

Leave a Reply

