Staying Present And “Leaving Time”


thFor me, Jodi Picoult’s books could be a hit (My Sister’s Keeper), but just as easily be a miss (The Pact and The Storyteller). I was so pleased Leaving Time was a hit! I loved the young protagonist, Jenna, who was convinced her mother was alive even though she had been missing ever since she checked herself out of the hospital following an elephant attack. By including chapters written by Jenna’s mother, Alice, I could see how her passion toward understanding the large pachyderms led her to devote her life to them.

Jenna’s determination to find the answers surrounding Alice’s disappearance brought a drunk cop out of retirement, and a physic out of hiding. The plight of these three tortured people searching for things to make them whole reminded me of a grown up version of Dorothy and her pals in The Wizard Of Oz. These characters all shared their perspectives through narration in chapters devoted only to them. That style made this story interesting and continuously fresh. Yet, page 333 was the page where I’d finally had enough of the elephant stories. There were a few twists that turned the story from focusing on the quirky characters into a dramatic and tense mystery. I did not see the ending coming, and I was pleasantly surprised with it!

This well written story reminded me why Jodi Picoult is such a well loved author. I can’t wait for more from her!

2 thoughts on “Staying Present And “Leaving Time”

  1. I have a feeling the book is more of a drama than a comedy, but I had to laugh when I read this: “…convinced her mother was alive even though she had been missing ever since she checked herself out of the hospital following an elephant attack.”

    No disrespect. It just struck the funny-bone.

    I enjoy your reviews. Short, but thorough.

    Like

Leave a Reply

