Mystery And Murder “Under The Harrow”


thUnder The Harrow is perfect for fans of The Girl On The Train. The fast paced rhythmic writing kept me glued to the page and made this a quick read. That style, coupled with a questionable narrator who had psychological and anger issues, made it unclear whether Nora killed her sister. Although Nora was the one who found her sister’s body she wasn’t initially a suspect, but something was very odd about Nora, Nora’s sister, and the murderer that made this a true psychological thriller. The author used very descriptive language and imagery to include many unique sights, smells, and sounds within the English landscape. I don’t know why a British setting adds to the suspense of murder mystery, but here the atmosphere was perfectly ominous. As far as the actual story, it was a bit disappointing. Nora didn’t do much to investigate her sister’s murder. Instead, the plot had several small bursts of activity that were explained to Nora. These red herrings didn’t connect to an overall plot, but were resolved in a few pages. The information Nora did uncover was learned very quickly and without much effort, so that just seemed unnatural.

The other half of the book was spent on Nora recalling stories of her time with her sister. One story made the police suspect Nora in the death, but again, it was resolved so quickly that Nora was barely a person of interest. Nora wasn’t what I would call an unreliable narrator, which seems to work extremely well for psychological thrillers. Instead, she was an odd woman who was hard to get to know despite the large amount of information provided about her and her life.
The descriptive writing was the highlight of this novel to the detriment of a thrilling plot. I enjoyed this, and while it was similar to The Girl On The Train, it was a distant second.
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s