Sing A Long To “Memories Before And After The Sound Of Music”


Memories Before And After The Sound Of Music would most appeal to fans of the classic movie The Sound Of Music, but might also let those same fans down. I LOVE The Sound Of Music, but this was so bizarre and negative that it didn’t add anything for me to the beloved story I grew up on.

Right now I could burst out singing any of the songs in this musical! It was clear that the author deeply resented the movie and the artistic license that the writers took with her life. And while I get that angst, I thought, so what? The movie brought recognition to the von Tripp family on an international level! So deal with it!

Most of this autobiography detailed Agathe’s life that was so far afield from the movie that I was disappointed. Then, when she finally started talking about the Von Trapp family singers, it was so brief that I was still disappointed. Ugh. I closed the book on this and watched the musical instead. So long farewell!

Leave a comment